click here to return to the main index
London 08:24 pm     Amsterdam 09:24 pm     Helsinki 10:24 pm     Moscow 11:24 pm
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Press: Reptile risks raise cash


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wes von Papinešu on July 03, 2002 at 10:26:16:

SALE & ALTRINCHAM MESSENGER (UK) 02 July 02 Reptile risks raise cash
A brave member of staff at Trafford General Hospital tested his nerve by holding a snake, spider and scorpion at the same time.
Simon Devereaux, 53, from Davyhulme was trying to raise more than £1,000 for specialised hospital equipment by being sponsored to hold the animals.
The support services worker at Trafford General Hospital, took on the unusual stunt to raise funds to buy digital baby scales and a transfusion warmer for the hospital's accident and emergency (A and E) department.
Simon, a porter based in the A and E department, was sponsored to have a royal python, weighing in at more than 1kg and measuring approximately 5ft in length - wrapped around his arms. At the same time he had a Chile rose tarantula on one shoulder and an emperor scorpion on the other.
Steve Croft, owner of Urmston Aquatics and Reptile Centre, which has been based in Urmston for more than six years, showed Simon how to hold the animals.
Steve said: "We were delighted to be able to help Simon raise cash for the specialist equipment at Trafford General Hospital.
"When people buy these type of animals as pets, we always make sure they receive advice on the best way to care for them."
Simon said: "Staff at the A and E department work exceptionally hard, sometimes under difficult circumstances, and this is my way of helping to make their job slightly easier - by providing this equipment."
If you would like to make a donation for this brave feat, then please send a cheque made payable to "Trafford Healthcare NHS Trust", for the attention of Simon Devereaux, accident and emergency department, Trafford General Hospital, Moorside Road, Urmston, Manchester, M41 5SL.




Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com