click here to return to the main index
London 08:10 pm     Amsterdam 09:10 pm     Helsinki 10:10 pm     Moscow 11:10 pm
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Press: Will love bring DB out of her shell?


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wes von Papineäu on July 03, 2002 at 10:22:17:

NORTHAMPTON CHRONICLE (UK) 02 July 02 Will love bring DB out of her shell?
Lovelorn DB the 80-year-old tortoise has finally found a mate after the Chronicle & Echo played Cupid and sought out a shelled suitor.
Since the lonesome tortoise’s heartfelt plea for a mate appeared in the pages of the Chron, we have received more than a dozen calls from owners of reptilian romeos.
Owner Georgine Shatford, from Kingsland Close, Kingsthorpe, is desperate for a willing tortoise to provide DB with some offspring.
Now the Chron has stepped in and helped Mrs Shatford pick the most eligible of the bunch – Toby, a 55-year-old tortoise who has also never mated.
Mary Slaymaker, head teacher at Thorplands Lower School, was one of several readers who contacted us offering their pets for procreation.
She said: “As far as I know, he has never mated so it will be interesting to see how they get on.”
Mrs Shatford, 64, said: “I can’t believe the response the Chron has had from readers.
“We were really pleased with the story and hoped someone would come forward, but we didn’t expect so many.”
Before the Chron stepped in as matchmaker, previous attempts to match DB proved fruitless.
One would-be wooer, named Mr T, was too small and, despite chasing her around the garden, saw his advances spurned by DB. Another potential partner had one leg missing and couldn’t keep his balance.
Mrs Shatford said: “We haven’t had much luck with her, but it’s summer and she might be in a better mood this time.”




Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com