click here to return to the main index
London 08:35 am     Amsterdam 09:35 am     Helsinki 10:35 am     Moscow 11:35 am
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Press: Tortoise and the spare


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wes vo Papineau on July 03, 2002 at 10:21:11:

Photo: Where shell I go today ... Tina uses her off-road wheel to tackle grassy hill, thanks to a fitted axle

THE SUN (London, UK) 03 July 02 Tortoise and the spare (John Coles)
TINA the three-legged tortoise is happily shuffling about again after being given a special wheel — and a set of SPARES.
She had become depressed after a mystery predator bit off her right rear leg.
Then model shop boss Simon England fitted a tiny axle to her shell.
He added a 2in wheel and made several others for different surfaces.
Simon, of Frome, Somerset, was contacted by Longleat Safari Park, Wilts, where 50-year-old Tina is in pets’ corner.
Her carer Darren Beasley, 33, said: “She had a wheel before but it dug into her. She’s got a new lease of life.”
Simon, 37, said: “It’s the strangest job I’ve been involved with.”



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com