click here to return to the main index
London 08:11 am     Amsterdam 09:11 am     Helsinki 10:11 am     Moscow 11:11 am
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Press: Hunt for county's newt colonies


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wes von Papinešu on June 27, 2002 at 11:56:03:

EVENING TELEGRAPH (Coventry, UK) 25 June 02 Hunt for county's newt colonies
Ponds around Nuneaton are to be studied to dis-cover if they are home to rare great crested newts.
Warwickshire Wildlife Trust has announced a project in partnership with Exel and Safeway to promote the conservation of ponds.
Two wildlife surveyors - Lyndsey Yates and Jon Easton - will spend four months visiting all the ponds in the area, thanks to funding from the two companies, which have a delivery depot on Prologis Park, in Keresley.
Great crested newts have full legal protection because of their rarity in Europe and have been identified as a priority species in the UK Biodiversity Action Plan.
The wildlife surveyors will try to discover where they are and what condition their breeding ponds are in so that they can target conservation action.




Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com