click here to return to the main index
London 06:42 pm     Amsterdam 07:42 pm     Helsinki 08:42 pm     Moscow 09:42 pm
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Re: Some info please


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Caleb on May 15, 2002 at 08:04:43:

In Reply to: Re: Some info please posted by Pieter on May 12, 2002 at 12:57:42:

: Yup, herps in the wild.
: I belief you have three native snake species?

Yes, the smooth snake, the grass snake and the adder. The smooth snake is incredibly rare (about 2000 left in the country, and only occurs on lowland heath in the Hampshire/Dorset area). The grass snake and adder certainly occur in Nottinghamshire.

The adder likes heaths or moors and similar open, sunny habitats. The grass snake can be found in many open habitats near water-bodies (as it eats amphibians), a good example is grassland round flooded gravel pits or clay pits.

There's a map of Nottinghamshire nature reserves at:

http://www.wildlifetrust.org.uk/nottinghamshire/nature_reserve.htm

-some of these might be worth visiting.

hope that helps.




Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com