click here to return to the main index
London 03:38 pm     Amsterdam 04:38 pm     Helsinki 05:38 pm     Moscow 06:38 pm
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Press: Passing cars 'causes toads to explode


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wes von Papinešu on April 03, 2002 at 19:58:22:

PRESS ASSOCIATION (London, UK) 02 April 02 Air pressure from passing cars 'causes toads to explode'
Passing cars can make toads crossing roads explode without even touching them.
A German researcher says they cause a sudden rise in air pressure which can be fatal for the amphibians.
Professor Dietrich Hummel, of Braunschweig, measured the suction caused by cars in a wind tunnel.
He says any speed over 20mph can can cause toads to explode and is calling for speed limits on toad-crossing blackspots.
He told The Mirror: "The bigger the clearance, the better it is for the toad. A Formula 1 car would be a disaster."



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com