click here to return to the main index
London 09:14 pm     Amsterdam 10:14 pm     Helsinki 11:14 pm     Moscow 12:14 am
Breeders/Dealers/Stores - Classifieds - Forums - Chat - Societies/Events
New Products - Care Sheets/FAQ's/Feature Pages - Bookstore - Magazine Rack
HerpIndex - Mailing Lists - WebRadio - Adoption - Recommended - Credits - Help
Please use get_banner.php
HerpSearch - Search Engine

click HEREto submit your site

Press (Scotland): Reptile House Closing Down As Costs Soar


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wes von Papinešu on March 30, 2002 at 14:04:10:

EVENING EXPRESS (UK) 29 March 02 Reptile House Closing Down As Costs Soar
The reptile house at Aberdeen's Duthie Park Winter Gardens is to close.
Owners Mike and Alison Daly made the announcement to shut the Ama-Zone Reptile House today.
The husband and wife team have run the facility voluntarily for four years.
Mrs Daly blamed high costs imposed by Aberdeen City Council for the move.
Their zoo licence and lease come up for renewal in June but Mrs Daly said: "Mike and I are sorry to close the Ama-Zone Reptile House.
"But due to the high cost and conditions imposed and the indifference we have experienced from the council we will not be seeking to continue."
There had been mounting fears in the last year over the zoo's future.
At one stage the council debated on whether to relocate the reptile house to Hazlehead Park. But Mrs Daly and her husband objected to the move.
It houses 20 exotic animals, including snakes, iguanas and tropical frogs.
Mrs Daly hoped the animals would find new owners in Aberdeen.
The couple will issue a PO Box number soon for potential owners to contact them.
Mrs Daly added: "We would like to thank everyone who has supported the centre and the Evening Express for their interest in our project.
"I do hope people will come and visit the animals during the Easter holidays as it will probably be their last chance."



Follow Ups:



Post a Followup

Name:
E-Mail:

Subject:

Comments:

Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The HerpForum UK ] [ FAQ ]
 
© 2000 OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc.
webmaster@kingsnake.com
Employment | Advertising Rates | Traffic Statistics | Credits | Support
Powered by kingsnake.com