Snake bite management in Trinidad/West Indies:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ HerpForum - South/Central America ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Uli Wagner on September 20, 1999 at 11:38:37:

Ten days ago in our beautiful rainforest I was bitten by a small viper (40 cm), suffered much pain, a swollen foot and lower leg, with haemorrhages extending up to my groin, acute severe headache, and bleeding gums. I survived the first three days on the balcony of a cosy little hotel on the beach, with a bit of rastafarian bushdoctor treatment and rum, did not even get a local tissue necrosis, but still have a swollen leg if I stand or sit for more than half an hour.

Being a physician, I updated myself afterwards on what I should/shouldn’t have done, and have some questions and remarks:

1. The snake was probably a Mapeypi (local name) which seems to be Bothrops atrox or Fer-de-lance, apparently the most common cause of snakebite in S.America, with less than 2% fatality.
- So in my avoidance of antivenom treatment I was right, you agree? (my reasons: 3 hours on rough roads with very painful leg, anaphylaxis risk, intensive care conditions, no benefits for local tissue damage)
- With 40 cm length, was this a baby? Are baby snakes less venomous than adults, do they inject a lower volume?

2. The main venom effects seem to have been blood and plasma leaking out of the blood vessels into the tissues. While this has stopped now, it still feels as if the vascular endothelium is damaged, in-cluding the veins’ valves, which causes foot & leg swelling if I don’t position the foot up. Is endovas-cular damage a possible longer-term effect?